RSS

Trying a New Vinaigrette

22 Aug

20130704-194319.jpg

This, ladies and gentleman, is one of the best salads I’ve made and had in a very long time. Tired of the mundane oil & vinegar or ranch that I often eat, I was ready for something fresh and different. I browsed around on the net and came across a couple of salads that looked yummy. Of course, based on what I had and what I liked, I combined and modified them. The salad has a multitude of flavors, combining far east, the South, Southwest and turning into nothing less than American. Here is the end result of my experiment.

Ingredients for the salad:

butter lettuce
spinach
corn
avocado
bleu or gorgonzola cheese
blueberries

As usual, there is very little measuring with me. I just put each salad together on the plate rather than tossing it and prepared it for either one, two, or three people at a time. I put the greens down first, then sprinkled the rest of the ingredients on top.

You can roast the corn on the grill or on the stove top. I chose the stove top. The kernels went into a medium hot dry iron skillet and were stirred occasionally to obtain the blackened edges. Do not use any oil, butter, or liquid. The purpose is to brown, not cook/fry the corn. Keep an eye on it. You want the kernels to be darkened but not burned to a crisp. They can go from browned to burned in a flash. The day I took this picture, I used frozen corn. A different day, I used fresh, but just made sure to have as little liquid as I could in the skillet.

Here is the dressing. It can be halved or doubled at your leisure. It should not be a problem.
1/2 c. olive oil
2 Tbsp. white wine vinegar (or white balsamic vinegar)
4 Tbsp. lime juice
2 Tbsp. honey
2 tsp. chili garlic sauce (Sriracha)
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. cumin

Mix and drizzle over the top of the salad. You could toss it in a big bowl as well, but the presentation seems prettier when the ingredients aren’t damaged in the toss.

This would be a great addition to a low carb diet. There is very little sugar in this. The greens, avocado, and blueberries are loaded with nutrients and the berries with antioxidants. The addition of [local] honey and the chili garlic sauce will help with sinuses and allergies.

A couple of good variations would be adding some toasted nuts or seeds or changing up the fruit. Other berries or citrus would be a yummy substitute.

Probably my favorite part of this salad is the avocado and the Sriracha. The little bit of heat is such a nice addition. It makes so many things so much better or so different! I could go on and on. That’s a post for another day.

Enjoy! Let me know how it goes for you. Olivia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
