RSS

Grammar Check Tool for Email

23 Mar

Spann, from middle Georgia, Tweeted me this morning asking about a tool for checking grammar on emails.  As of this morning, I was not very familiar with these tools.  Being a grammar nut, I proudly say that I have not had to use this software.  However, not everyone can be so lucky, I suppose. So, I went on a search to try out some different programs for some research.

I tried quite a few of them.  Honestly, I was thoroughly disappointed in what I saw.  I entered two basic sentences with four errors.

I went to the store yesterday with friend’s.  it was a beautiful ady we had a good time.

  1. Friends should not contain an apostrophe, as it is plural and does not show possession.  
  2. it should be capitalized.
  3. Day is misspelled.
  4. The second sentence is compound and needs some definition. i.e. coordinating conjunction, semicolon, etc.

The sites I went to all provided free, on the spot checks.  There were some options for downloadable programs and paid services, but I did not opt to go that route. Reverso.net caught none of the errors.  Grammarbase.com caught only the spelling error. Spellcheckplus.com caught only two of the mistakes- apostrophe and spelling. Grammarly.com picked up three of the four mistakes.

Microsoft programs come with grammar and spell check automatically. While it doesn’t catch everything, it is a good start. I don’t have a Mac, so I can’t vouch for what they have. After some research on that as well, the email function does come with a grammar and spell check function. Any input on that from Mac users would be welcome.

If you don’t still have your grammar textbook from high school or college, then here is a good resource.  Her name is Jane Strauss.  You can find her at http://www.grammarbook.com  This site has a wealth of information for anything grammar related.

Let me know how it works out and if you have any luck.

-O

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2013 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Grammar Check Tool for Email

  1. personaltrainercourse

    April 13, 2013 at 11:58 am

    Very nice post. Really liked your blog.

     
  2. Anurag Aggarwal Institute of Public Speaking

    April 21, 2013 at 4:02 am

    Good and very helpful points covered.

     
  3. Colleen S.

    May 26, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    Hey, thanks for the review. I work with the tool offered by http://www.whitesmoke.com/ very helpful. though slightly expensive but everything thats good is so.. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
