RSS

Dinner Delivery for New Parents

21 Mar

There are more babies being born around me than I can count. As I’m making my way around to see the new bundles of joy, I am attempting to do what I can to make these first few days a little easier on my friends. Last night, I went to visit a pair of my long time friends who just welcomed their first into the world, a little girl. She is not quite a week old. This first couple of weeks can be quite a challenge for new parents. All of them that I know welcome a helping hand or a prepared meal. I prepared a meal for them and based on my tastes and theirs being very similar, here is what I came up with:

  • Risotto with chicken, mushrooms, and truffle oil
  • Roasted carrots and parsnips
  • French bread
  • Bottle of Chardonnay

And for Mama to snack on later:

  • Sectioned oranges
  • Bunch of seedless grapes

Here are a few notes on the preparation:

With just a little butter and truffle oil, saute the onions and garlic first for a few minutes, then add in the mushrooms. Cook until the mushrooms are about halfway cooked through. I used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery for this. Shred some in the skillet and remove from heat.

In a different pot, prepare the risotto as directed on the package. Make sure your broth is hot and keep stirring the risotto. I added in a cup of white wine and a little more truffle oil. I also took a scoop of the vegetable mixture and stirred in while cooking as to start blending the flavors. When the risotto is almost finished, add in the remaining chicken and vegetable mixture. Stir and let rest just a minute. The heat here will cook the mushrooms thoroughly, but still have them looking lively.

The carrots and parsnips were easy. Slice or cut them as you wish. Place in a baking dish. Drizzle with a little olive oil, fresh chopped thyme and rosemary, and a sprinkle of brown sugar. Salt and pepper if desired. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes or so. Just until they start to shrivel a bit. That will leave them with a little firmness.

When planning for this type of meal, think about their needs. Do all the preparation for them and have it ready to serve and/or easy to reheat. Also, Mama will be ravenous, especially if breastfeeding. Fresh items are best. Fruits, veggies, nuts, etc. She needs lots of nutritious meals and snacks.

Apologies for lack of pictures. In my haste, I forgot to take them.

I hope this inspires you make pleasing dishes and do good things for those you care about.

Cheers, O.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Dinner Delivery for New Parents

  1. Oldkingcurry

    March 21, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    That sounds delicious! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
