RSS

Apostrophe Placement/Grammar Rant

20 Mar

This is my first grammar rant via blog post. Surely, more are to follow. I just can’t take it anymore.

My friend Jo named me an official grammar deputy some years ago. She and I are cut of the same cloth when it comes to grammar. We constantly encounter red flags of misuse in the English language. Nails on a chalkboard, if you will. Today’s red flags come with the use of apostrophes in the wrong places. I see the misuse everywhere these days. People are always showing plurality with use of an apostrophe. Apostrophes are used for two things: to show possession and to make a contraction.

I just came across a blog that was riddled with grammatical errors! For chrissake, if you are going to be a writer, make it right! Her apostrophes were in the wrong places, spelling errors galore, and improper usage of a/an. ( I truly wanted to link to her site on here, but I’ve decided not to be rude and call her out to the world. ) Just because you hear someone else say something, it doesn’t make it right. Is grammar even taught in school anymore? Mistakes are everywhere! I see them on blogs, Facebook, emails, speech, and the list goes on.

Here is a link to today’s grammar lesson: Jane Strauss has it together. http://www.grammarbook.com/punctuation/apostro.asp Read her material and learn.

Share with others! Sound and look educated! Make the world a better place.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2013 in Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Apostrophe Placement/Grammar Rant

  1. Oldkingcurry

    March 21, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    It also bugs me when people use quotation marks to place emphasis on a word.

    Do “not” leave the door unlocked!

     
  2. nomadruss

    March 24, 2013 at 11:07 am

    I really like’s this. (haha, just teasing)

     

Leave a Reply

 
