RSS

Grease Burns in the Kitchen

02 Jul

Ah, the trials and tribulations of preparation in the kitchen. From the rookies to the seasoned chefs, everyone ends up with injuries at some point during their culinary adventures. As for me, I fall somewhere in the middle and am no exception to this rule. My latest food frown comes in the form of 2nd degree grease burns to my left hand and foot. Yes, I said foot, too. Long story short, I left a small pan of oil on a live burner and it went up in smoke. During the course of removal, it sloshed on my hand mostly, then went on my foot when I dropped it on the floor. Not a pretty sight, I can assure you. I’ve been joking that my fingers appear as if they are in rigor. A bit lighter in color, swollen, and stiff. Not to mention the oozing. Enough said.

Here I am a couple of days later, trying to heal and keep the wounds dry. As I’ve read through all the recommended methods of treatment for burns, I decided first, that mine is probably not bad enough to seek medical attention besides questioning the pharmacist.He recommended all sorts of non stick gauze, aloe sprays, tapes, ointments and the like. As I was making my decision, I noticed that tea tree oil was on the shelf with all the other remedies. Bingo. I thought to myself that I had some at home and decided to go with it rather than spending eight bucks on a bottle of burn spray. Once back home, I realized that no amount of tape or gauze was going to work out due to the burns being on fingers, toes, their joints, and in between.

So, I went with the tea tree oil to start with. Let me tell you, the pain relief was instant. I rubbed just enough to cover it and it soaked in within 4-5 minutes.

The days have gone by now; its been 6. I have put the tea tree oil on multiple times a day in addition to taking some otc pain reliever and using some antibiotic ointment on occasion. The blisters formed, filled, and burst. Now the new skin is appearing, the healing itch is in full force, and I’m over the hump. The pain is still here for sure. Elevation, t.t. oil and ibuprofen have gotten me through.

I will say this: the tea tree oil has magnificent drying power in addition to the pain relief. The moral of this story is to try the oil next time you get burned. My experience with it has been better than anything I’ve ever used.

Below is a photo of the products I used. The Aquaphor is an antibiotic burn salve, but regular antibiotic ointment with pain reliever works just as well.

20120702-172854.jpg

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 2, 2012 in Kitchen, Plants

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Grease Burns in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

 
