RSS

Chicken Alfredo Roll-ups

06 Apr

Aahhh, Pinterest. How can I possibly accomplish all the things you present for me to do? You tell me what to wear, where to go, crafts to make, rooms to decorate, and oh so often, what foods to eat. For last night’s dinner, the bf and I, we thank you.

A couple of my friends, Chasidy and Danielle, posted this picture/recipe yesterday afternoon. Something new is always getting experimented with around this kitchen and yesterday was no exception.

Source: mmmcafe.blogspot.com via Olivia on Pinterest

From there, I dove right in. Knowing it was going to be rich and loaded full of fat and other yummy things, I decided to add a pinch of healthy into it. Since I was going to be rolling it up, zucchini ribbons seemed to be a good choice. So, I used a peeler and made thin ribbons. (A good substitute since I don’t have a mandoline). I will apologize now for the poor picture quality. I took these with my phone in the terrible lighting I have in my kitchen. I’m just lucky that I didn’t drop it in the Alfredo sauce.

image

In her recipe, the author mentions that it will be messy. She’s right. Making this in a tiny kitchen didn’t help much either. However, we managed. It took some wiggling around and switching up, and after feeling like we were candidates for a kitchen makeover show, we got in a rhythm. Here’s the process halfway. Spreading everything out on the noodles, layering, then rolling up. Also, I would like to mention that I used fresh mozzarella.  I just bought a small (fist size) ball and sliced a little in each roll.
image

The person that made it originally managed to get it neatly situated in an 8×8 dish. That did not happen for us. I just had to move it over to a bigger dish to start with. Once I make this again, maybe it will be with more finesse and it will fit. Here is the dish as it came out of the oven. The smell was incredible. Of course, what’s not good about butter, cream, cheese, pasta and garlic aromas filling a house???

image

Here’s a roll after I served it up. I loved seeing the zucchini peeking out. Accompanying this was a salad and glass of Merlot.
image

Looking forward to trying this again and getting the hang of the process and the mess under control.

Let me know if you try it. (Recipe below.)

Cheers, O

Link to the original post here. 

Chicken Alfredo Roll-ups

9 lasagna noodles
2 ½ cups alfredo sauce (optional homemade recipe below)
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
oregano
garlic salt
3 cups shredded Mozzarella, or cheese of your choice

Spray an 8×8 pan with non-stick spray and pour ½ cup alfredo sauce, or just enough to cover the bottom of the pan. Boil 8-10 cups water in a large pan, cook lasagne noodles until al dente. (I usually cook 1 or 2 extra just because lasagna noodles always seem to break on me when I am stirring them.)
Now this is the important part! Drain and rinse the noodles with cold water to prevent them from sticking to each other. Then, lay out each noodle individually and blot dry with a paper towel.

Spread about 2 Tbs. alfredo sauce over each noodle. (if there is too much sauce you will have a big mess on your hands!) Sprinkle oregano and garlic salt on top of sauce. Take 1/9 of the shredded chicken and spread it out evenly over each noodle. Add approx. 3 Tbs. cheese. To roll up, start at one end and roll the noodle over the toppings. You will need to lift the noodle a little to prevent squishing out the inside ingredients while rolling.

Place the roll-ups in the pan, one by one, seam-side down so they don’t come undone. Once they are all in the pan, pour the remaining alfredo sauce over the top. Top with remaining cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes, or until the cheese is completely melted on top.

Serves 3, 3 roll-ups each
Recipe highly adapted from Artsyfartsymama.blogspot.com

The Best Garlic Alfredo Sauce
Printable Version

½ cup butter
2 ounces cream cheese
2 cups heavy cream (or substitute half and half)
2 teaspoon garlic powder
½  tsp. fresh minced garlic
salt and freshly ground black pepper
½ tsp dried oregano
⅔ cup parmesan cheese

In a medium to large saucepan melt the butter over medium heat. Add fresh minced garlic and cook for 1 minute, or until fragrant. Add the cream cheese and whisk to smooth and melted. Whisk in the heavy cream.
Season with the garlic powder, salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer and whisk frequently until sauce thickens, around 15 minutes. Stir in the cheese and when melted, remove from heat and serve.

Makes 2 ½ cups
Recipe from Momma!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 6, 2012 in Food, What's For Dinner?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Chicken Alfredo Roll-ups

  1. pamasaurus

    April 6, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I’m definitely going to have to try these! I make spinach lasagna roll ups all the time, and my family loves them. These should be no exception 😀 Thanks for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
