RSS

Do You Make Your Own Snacks?

03 Apr

Hello there.  I’m about to embark on making some snacks for myself.  Are you making your own snacks at home? What are you putting together? How about healthy options?

I have a huge sweet tooth, so I’m seeking healthier alternatives! Plain fruit or healthy crackers are completely boring to me! I’m going to try to find or come up with some good combinations.  Ideally, I could make a batch of something that I could keep around for a week or two.

Tell me what you’ve got and I will keep you posted on what I come up with.

Pistachios and dark chocolate might be starting this off…

Cheers.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Do You Make Your Own Snacks?

  1. Laura Catherine

    April 3, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    Hi. Homemade peanut butter balls are a favorite of our family. I don’t have a recipe per se, but here are some things we often put in them:

    Peanut butter
    Whole Oats or crushed cereal
    honey
    dark chocolate chips
    ground flax seed
    powdered milk

    The important thing is get them to the right consistency to form balls – that’s where the flax seed and/or powdered milk come in handy. Once the pb balls are formed they store well in the fridge. They work on the go too if it’s not too hot. Good luck. I’ll post again if any delicious ideas come to mind.

     
    • just add honey

      April 6, 2012 at 5:45 pm

      I make a similar snack!

      1 c oatmeal
      1/2 c almond butter
      1/3 c honey
      1 c coconut flakes
      1/2 c ground flax seeds
      1/2 c dried cranberries
      1/2 c whatever nut/seed is in the house {I love pumpkin seeds}
      1 tsp vanilla

      Make into balls and store in fridge.

      It’s sweet without being too much and my 3yr old loves them!

       
  2. Bunny Eats Design

    April 3, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    I don’t really snack. For snacks, I have smaller portions of leftover meals.

     
  3. Alisha Cavin

    April 3, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    I like frozen strawberries or raspberries topped with plain kefir. I’m obsessed with it at the moment. A snack I used to make the kids (and me) all the time is orange-cream cheese balls from the Super Baby Food book.
    8 oz. cream cheese, softened
    2 tbsp. evaporated milk
    2 tbsp. frozen orange juice concentrate
    1 tsp vanilla
    Mix all that together and let chill in fridge about 15-20 min. Form into balls then roll in toasted wheat germ. Both of those satisfy my sweet tooth.

     

Leave a Reply

 
