RSS

Pledge Fabric Sweeper for Pet Hair

17 Feb

Here’s a fantastic product that I need to share with pet owners. There are probably fourteen different pet hair remover gadgets out on the market. Most seem like gimmicks to me and I have been reluctant to buy any of them. I was introduced to this one a few months back and got to try it before I bought it. Truly, it is one of the greatest things I could ask for. The Pledge Fabric Sweeper works like a charm. It works on furniture, bedspreads, pillows, car interiors, rugs, and the list goes on. It sweeps from side to side and the hair and fur is swept up inside the chamber.

From the Pledge website

image

Underside of the product

There is a negative to this, however. They advertise it as a multi-use disposable product. Once you buy it, you will see. They are right, you can use it multiple times. My concern is that it is such a waste and bad contribution to the environment to throw away such heavy plastic on a regular basis. But wait!! There’s hope. The sweepers are easily removable! Just pop one out and remove the pet hair and pop it back in. That way, you can reuse a great deal more. I have tried it this way and have been using it for months.

image

Roller snaps right out to empty

Let me know if you’ve tried one of if you do. Take a look at it on their website. These can be purchased at grocery, variety, and some hardware stores.

Hope you’re enjoying this mid February day! It’s gorgeous here in Atlanta.

Olivia

Ok. So here’s an update.  After reading the product info on the website, I was a little confused.  It reported the box says resuable and the directions say to dispose of when full.  So, I emailed the company to ask and quickly got a response.

“I’m glad you wrote, Olivia.
It’s great to hear you had a chance to try Pledge® Fabric Sweeper For Pet Hair – and it’s especially nice to know how pleased you are with the results.
However, I did want to add that since it sounds like you’re currently using the previous disposable model, I think you’ll be happy to learn in July 2011 we introduced an environmentally friendly sweeper designed with a removable lid. No more popping out rollers – simply sweep, empty, and reuse!
Thanks for the chance to help, and be sure to look for packages labeled “Empty & Reuse”.
Best wishes,
Karyn
Consumer Relationship Center SC Johnson, A Family Company”

That’s good news! Glad they are being more environmentally conscious.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in Pets

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pledge Fabric Sweeper for Pet Hair

  1. Cris Angsten

    February 25, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    As the owner of three dogs (and a foster fourth right now) I have one of these also & like what a good job it does. Mine is also the earlier model. I made the same discovery and have continued to use it. Glad they have changed to something more eco-conscious!

     
  2. Annie Marsh

    April 20, 2013 at 10:00 am

    I have a black cat and this Pledge sweeper does a fantastic job – I absolutely love it. However, I have the older model also and can no longer find either the older model or the new model. I did find a few online, but the price was from $12.95 up to $35, which I thought was a bit high.

     
  3. Celeste vasti

    August 27, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    Where cam you find them now…..I love it but can’t seem to find any……anywhere…..anymore. I am really upset it works the best for a quick cat hair clean up.

     
    • thewritemyers

      August 28, 2014 at 8:35 am

      Celeste, I believe that they stopped making them. Not sure why! People loved them. On their Facebook page, it says you can order directly from them by calling 800-848-2588. There is a long thread of people asking for its return. Add to it and maybe it will help. Thanks for stopping by by blog.

       

Leave a Reply

 
