RSS

Corks 3 Ways

14 Dec

Merry Christmas from the Myers household!

image

Wreath of corks

This new wreath is adorning my front door.  It’s made of corks! Corks are an item that we obtain all year long.  There’s always a jar sitting around being filled, but what does everyone do with them?  The big jar is a great decorator item, so nothing wrong with that; it is a divine thing to look at and a good conversation piece. Other things that are commonly made with them are trivets and bulletin boards. I’ve got three ways to use them that you might not know about yet.

1. Starting above with the wreath, it’s my latest project.  I started with a straw wreath base and hot glued them on all the way around.  About 150 corks later, I added a bow that I made and hung it with fishing line.  It looks charming!

2. Table Leveler.  This is an old trick I learned from years in the restaurant business. Cut a cork lengthwise on the diagonal,  Then wedge under the rocking leg of the table and there you have it! Level table again! It is soft and stays in place.  Works like a charm.

3.  Felt Pad Substitute. If you use felt pads on the bottom of your furniture legs, cabinet doors,etc, corks are an ideal substitute.  Slice the end off with a sharp knife and use an adhesive appropriate for the material it is being attached to, and you are ready to go.  I used them on the bottom of this ceramic dish that I made.  The dish had a couple of tiny rough spots that I was having trouble filing down.  After getting one scratch on top of my liquor cabinet (where this sits) I decided to fix it.  I just used hot glue.  It will not effect the pottery if I decide to remove it.

Underside of dish.

Side view. Very thin slice.

Let me know your ideas or uses.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2011 in 3 Ways

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Corks 3 Ways

  1. Donna Barkson

    December 14, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Oh those are great ideas! I found these tips very useful, thanks.

     
  2. Fran Myers

    December 15, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Great ideas! I can use the leveler tip.

     
  3. Cris Angsten

    December 16, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I especially like the cork felt pads – great post!

     
  4. Brooke Covert

    December 16, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    If you have a flat end, “stand up on it’s own” flat or you can cut a sliver off lengthwise to make a flat side, you can use a cork as a name tag place holder at a table setting. Make a shallow cut into whichever part of the cork is opposite of the flat surface and stick a business card-sized name tag into it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
