RSS

Baked Flounder with Tomatoes and Basil

01 Sep

Trying something new today.  There’s inspiration all around me for new dishes- my magazine subscriptions, my work in the restaurant industry, meals when I eat out, and people telling me what they are cooking.  In this category, I will share some of these ideas that I put into use.  I’ll start with Baked Flounder with Tomatoes and Basil.  This came to me through this month’s Bon Appetit (The Restaurant Issue Sept 2011). 

Link to Bon Appetit’s recipe here 

This is truly one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever tried. It is a reminder of how very simple things can be very delicious.  It turned out to be marvelous in taste and a crowd pleaser. 

This is BA's photo of their meal.

 
I used fresh tomatoes from my friend Carrie’s garden and fresh basil from my own.  Toss everything but the fish in the baking dish and bake for 5 minutes.  Then place the fish on top and return to the oven for ten more minutes.  There you have it! 
 
Here’s a step in the process.  We were so excited about the dish, that I forgot to take a picture of the final product.  Such is life.  Here it is midway. 

To complete the meal, I decided to add haricot verts and polenta.  I blanched the beans and left them with a crunch and a bright green color.  I had never cooked polenta, so I decided to keep it simple.  It cooks in one minute and the taste was so good. I substituted half of the water with chicken stock. At the end of cooking, I added a little butter, half & half, parmesan, and salt/pepper. 

The end product was an incredible meal.  Definitely a keeper. 

Final product and all its beautiful color.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in What's For Dinner?

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Baked Flounder with Tomatoes and Basil

  1. Donna

    September 1, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Wow, what a healthful, easy to prepare recipe. I will try this tonight! Thanks, life Skills!

     

Leave a Reply

 
