RSS

Peppers

25 Aug

As the gardens are producing their final batches of fruits and vegetables, everyone is enjoying the benefits of their love and hard work that has been put in all summer. I am certainly no exception to this rule. However, I am celebrating the fruit of others’ labor this year. Not having a garden of my own here in the city, I’m lucky enough to get some good veggies elsewhere. I worked at the Brookhaven Farmers Market a couple of weekends ago. Andrew, from Noring Farms in Covington, had some beautiful heirloom peppers. The colors were so gorgeous- a light lime green, deep purple, and a soft, light yellow. I bought three pounds.

A few days later, I went home to Summerville to see my parents and spend some time at the property. After visiting with my neighbor, Mr. Evans, I came home with an abundance of peppers- bells, jabaneros, and cayennes. So, at that point, I had a huge amount of peppers and had to figure out what to do with them.

I started with a batch of pepper jelly. The color was a glassy light green and so pretty. Bad news- it didn’t set. Re-cooked it and still no luck. 0 for 1 and batch thrown out. The next decision was to make a pepper and onion relish. Vidalias are peaking right now and I figured I couldn’t go wrong. After chopping veggies for 2 solid hours, I was on a roll.

image

Veggies in! Off I go!

Through this process, I decided it was time to buy another canning pot. This amount of peppers was almost too much for my standard pot to handle.

image

This was the first time that I had made a pepper-onion relish. It turned out nicely. I would have liked a little more heat, but wanted to stick to the original recipe to start with. The colors are good, the texture still has a bit of a crunch and the flavor is mild. I can’t wait to try it over a dog with some fresh buns from Bakeshop.

Noring Farms 200 Glass Springs Rd Covington, GA 30014

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
